MSSC President

Michael Lievens, MD is a board-certified gastroenterologist, practicing in Wichita since 1989.  Dr. Lievens completed his undergraduate from Creighton University and followed with his medical degree from Northwestern University Medical School, Chicago, Illinois in 1989. He completed his internship and residency at the Wilford Hall United States Air Force Medical Center. His professional certifications include Gastroenterology, American Board of Internal Medicine.  He holds current academic appointments with University of Kansas School of Medicine.  Dr. Lievens is the Gastroenterology Section Chair with Via Christi Regional Medical Center and is the Endoscopy Committee Chair at Wesley Medical Center.

Dr. Lievens

MSSC Board of Directors

  • Patricia Wyatt-Harris, MD President Elect
  • Christina Nicholas, MD Secretary
  • Fadi Joudi – MD Treasurer
  • Jed Delmore, MD Immediate Past President
  • Nicholas Brown, MD
  • Theresa Cusick, MD
  • Jeffrey S. Davis, MD
  • Tana Goering, MD
  • Jennifer Jackson, MD
  • E. Jeanne Kroeker, MD
  • Zachary Kuhlmann, DO
  • Jany Moussa, MD
  • Diane Steere, MD

MSSC Executive Director

Phillip Brownlee became the MSSC executive director in May 2017. He worked for 21 years at The Wichita Eagle, including 16 years as editorial page editor. During his tenure at The Eagle, Phillip and the editorial board won numerous journalism awards, including the Kansas Public Health Association service award. Phillip also worked previously as a certified public accountant in Dallas and as public information director. He earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting and business administration from Sterling College and a master’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas. Phillip and his wife, Laila, have two grown children.

MSSC Organizational Chart